Community Seed Banks In Uganda

Joy Mugisha Community Seed Bank | Sheema-Bushenyi


Image Description

Joy Mugisha seedbank was established in 2016 with 52 members of which 26 are female and 26 are male famers.
The seed bank is located in South-western Uganda, Sheema District, Kagango County, Kiziba Parish, Rubare Village.

The crop species currently conserved at Kewerimide Nakasongola seedbank include
Common bean (Phaseolus vulgaris), coffee (Coffea spp.), bananas (Musa spp.), sweet potatoes (Ipomea batatas), cassava (Manihot esculenta), millet (Panicum miliaceum), maize (Zea mays) and soybean (Glycine max)

To date, the seed bank receives support from Bioversity International, National Agricultural Research organization (NARO) and PELUM (U).

Joy Mugisha seed bank can be reached out through the Chairperson,
Joy Mugisha on:
Phone: +256 701 114420 or +256 782 960 948



naro bioversity unep ifad sdc govt-of-ug